Originally 103 towers were built between 1805 and 1812 to resist a potential invasion by Napoleon.
29 were built between Aldeburgh and St Osyth Stone between 1808 and 1812 to protect Essex and Suffolk, the rest having been built a few years earlier across the Kent and Sussex coasts. They were built of brick, 13 foot thick on the seaward side, stood about 30 foot high and were equipped with a cannon on the roof. A supporting fort, or Redoubt, was built at Harwich.
The largest tower is Martello CC, at Aldeburgh, which is effectively four towers joined together. After becoming derelict it was acquired by the Landmark Trust and after extensive repairs it was converted into holiday accommodation.
St Osyth to Felixstowe towers (A to Q).
Bawdsey to Hollesley towers (V to AA).
Martello towers AA & CC.
|Martello A||St Osyth||Used as a museum|
|Martello C||Jaywick||Bought by Essex County Council as an arts venue for visual and digital arts, opening Sept '05. On the roof, is a purpose-built look-out station, to be used by the National Coastwatch Institute.|
|Martello E||Clacton||Once a water tower, now unused|
|Martello F||Clacton||Private, unused|
|Martello K||Walton||Private, unused|
|Martello L||Felixstowe||Private, unused|
|Martello M||Felixstowe||Once a water tower, now unused & private|
|Martello P||Felixstowe||Coastguard lookout, now unused|
|Martello Q||Felixstowe||Converted to a house|
|Martello T||Felixstowe||Private, unused|
|Martello V||Bawdsey||Pulled down and made into a sunken garden when Bawdsey Manor was built in late 1800s|
|Martello W||Bawdsey||Converted into a house in 1985|
|Martello X||Bawdsey||Washed into the sea in the early 20th century|
|Martello Y||Bawdsey||Converted into a house in 2010|
|Martello AA||Shingle Street||Converted to house|
|Martello BB||River Ore||Demolished in 1822|
|Martello CC||Aldeburgh||Unique quadruple tower south of the town. Owned by The Landmark Trust, available for rent.|